## History of 7th & 8th Boy's Basketball in Putnam County 1975 - 2023

Organized, Junior High basketball has been played in Putnam County since at least 1936. From 1936 to 1965, boys from the 7th, 8th and 9th grades were combined to play on one team. In 1966, the Ohio High School Athletic Association, legislated that the 9th graders would be combined with high school students, or grades 10-12. The 7th and 8th graders would be treated separately. As a result, from 1966 to today, the 9th Grade PCLT includes only 9th graders and schools from Putnam County. The tournament site is alphabetically rotated each year.

In the late 1950's through the mid 1970's, schools in Putnam County started to have individual 7th & 8th grade teams playing interscholastically. However, the season ending tournaments at this level were combination teams from all three grades until 1966. The Junior High tournaments in Putnam County from 1936 - 1940 were invitational tournaments. Delphos St. Johns won the first invitational in 1936. There is no evidence of a tournament in 1941 probably because of World War II. Beginning in 1942, the Junior High tournaments included only Putnam County teams. In 1960, Pandora hosted a tournament in which 7th and 8th graders were put on one team. Miller City won that tournament. From that point on, there were a few invitational tournaments for the 7th and 8th graders run by various organizations such as the Knights of Columbus, CYO and Ottawa SPPS.

Fort Jenning's High School started a Junior High tournament in 1975 in which only 8th graders would play. In 1988, the Putnam County League formed two tournaments, one for 7th graders and one for 8th graders, in which any Putnam County school could enter. This format is still used today and the tournament is alphabetically rotated among the PCL schools.

PCL Tournament Winners				
Year	8th Graders Only	7th Graders Only		
1975	Kalida			
1976	Kalida			
1977	Fort Jennings			
1978	Ottoville			
1979	Kalida			
1980	Continental			
1981	Miller City			
1982	C.G. St. Anthonys			
1983	Continental			
1984	Kalida			
1985	Miller City			
1986	Miller City			
1987	Ottoville			
1988	Miller City	Continental		
1989	Continental	Miller City		
1990	Columbus Grove	Ottoville		
1991	Columbus Grove	Ottoville		
1992	Kalida	Miller City		
1993	Miller City	Miller City		
1994	Miller City	Miller City		
1995	Ottawa Public	Fort Jennings		
1996	Fort Jennings	Glandorf		
1997	Ottoville	Continental	Colu	
1998	Kalida	Continental	C.G.	
1999	Continental	Ottawa Public	Conti	
2000	Glandorf	Kalida	Fort .	
2001	Fort Jennings	Ottoville	Glane	
2002	Glandorf	Ottoville	Kalid	
2003	Ottawa Public	Fort Jennings	Leips	
2004	Glandorf	Ottawa SPPS	Leips	
2005	Ottawa Public	Continental	Mille	
2006	Ottawa SPPS	Ottoville	Ottav	
2007	Kalida	Kalida	Ottav	
2008	Kalida	Ottawa SPPS	Ottov	
2009	Glandorf	Ottawa SPPS	Pand	

## **PCL Tournament Winners**

Year	8th Graders Only	7th Graders Only
2010	Ottawa SPPS	Glandorf
2011	Glandorf	Ottawa SPPS
2012	Ottawa SPPS	Leipsic St. Marys
2013	Kalida	Glandorf
2014	Glandorf	Kalida
2015	Kalida	Kalida
2016	Kalida	Ottoville
2017	Ottoville	Ottawa SPPS
2018	Ottawa SPPS	Kalida
2019	Kalida	Miller City
2020	Kalida	Fort Jennings
2021	Fort Jennings	Kalida
2022	Kalida	Miller City
2023	Miller City	Kalida

s		8th Grader Winners in	7th Grader Winners in
		the Past 49 Years	the Past 36 Years
	Columbus Grove	2	0
	C.G. St. Anthonys	1	0
ic	Continental	4	4
	Fort Jennings	4	3
	Glandorf	6	3
	Kalida	14	7
s	Leipsic	0	0
5	Leipsic St. Marys	0	1
	Miller City	7	6
	Ottawa Public	3	1
	Ottawa SPPS	4	5
5	Ottoville	4	6
5	Pandora-Gilboa	0	0